1040 Winston Churchill Blvd, Oakville, ON l6J 7Y4

4.8
Total 468 Reviews
905-823-2626 Book An Appointment

Get a Vehicle Safety Inspection Near Me at Sil’s Auto Care

Sils Technicians Completing a Vehicle Safety Inspection Near Me

A safety inspection is crucial in ensuring that your vehicle meets the minimum safety standards required for safe operation on the road. If you’re searching for a “vehicle safety inspection near me” in Oakville or Mississauga, look no further than Sil’s Complete Auto Care. We understand the importance of road safety and compliance with the regulations set forth by the Ministry of Transportation (MTO).

What is a Safety Inspection?

A safety standards certificate serves as confirmation that your vehicle met the minimum safety standards on the date of issuance. It does not function as a warranty or guarantee for the current condition of the vehicle.

While it is possible to purchase and register a vehicle without a safety standards certificate, the vehicle cannot be plated without one.

To obtain this certificate, your vehicle must successfully undergo an inspection at a designated inspection station licensed by the Ministry of Transportation (MTO).

When is a Safety Inspection Required?

You require a safety standard inspection and certificate under the following circumstances:

  • Registering a rebuilt vehicle
  • Transferring ownership of a used vehicle to a new owner (excluding spouses)
  • Registering a vehicle in Ontario acquired from another province, territory, or country
  • Changing the status of a vehicle from unfit to fit

Be aware that a safety inspection is valid for 36 days from the inspection date. This, again is not a warranty, but the form is valid for usage for 36 days. The validity of the inspection was for that day of the inspection.

What is Checked During a Safety Inspection?

The safety inspection covers various components. See the attached PDF document, which any MTO-certificated facility will follow.  They are no grey or middle ground areas in the inspection.  Its black or white how a technician should make the call on a concern. If there is a question then we contact enforcement for clarity.

MOT inspection PDF

What is the Cost of a Safety Inspection?

Inspection can vary from facility to facility; please call 905-823-2626 or book an appointment online.

What if My Car Doesn’t Pass the Inspection?

If your vehicle fails, the inspection fee is still applicable. Repairs at a different garage may incur an additional reinspection charge. There is a reinspection fee in some cases as the technician, before signing, must visually verify that the repairs were performed, which could mean lifting the vehicle or removing wheels to reinspect various parts.

Get a Proper Vehicle Certified Inspection.

The past and sometimes current practices of issuing safety certificates without inspecting the vehicle can result in severe consequences. Ensure your vehicle undergoes a proper inspection, promoting road safety for all. In some cases, there have been lawsuits and the necessity of MTO enforcement to get involved with owners and facilities.

Safety Inspection Failures

Inspections encompass a range of elements, addressing minor concerns like light bulbs and extending to more significant issues such as worn-out brakes or suspension parts. Tackling these matters is essential to guarantee a secure driving experience for all road users.

What if My Car Passes the Inspection?

If your vehicle passes, you receive a safety certificate valid for 36 days. This document verifies compliance with the Highway Traffic Act and regulations and is usable for vehicle registration, insurance, or ride-sharing programs.

The Future of MTO Safety Inspections

Expect an upcoming digital transformation of the MTO program involving discussions about implementing a more thorough system akin to the Drive Clean program. The objective is to uphold the presence of safe vehicles on the roads through regular inspections, underscoring the significance of consistent vehicle maintenance.

Currently, the ministry collaborates with MTO-approved facilities, also known as motor vehicle inspection stations, to provide education and information on requirements and training. The envisioned program is anticipated to adopt a tablet-based inspection system integrated with a network, preventing a car owner from moving to another location and obtaining a pass certificate without necessary repairs. The assigned technician must have their ID and photo attached to the inspection for authentication.

Learn more on the DriveOn Program site

Why Choose Sils Complete Auto Care for Your Safety Inspection?

  • Certified facility for over 30 years
  • Licensed, Registered with MTO and skilled Technicians
  • Digital Vehicle inspection since 2019, so this process is an easy transition
  • CAA Auto Repair Approved facility for Oakville

Get Your Safety Standard Certificate and Inspection Today! Call us to ensure safety and compliance in all situations:

  • Transferring ownership of a used vehicle.
  • Registering a vehicle from another province or country.
  • Registering a rebuilt vehicle.
  • Upgrading an unfit vehicle’s status to fit.

Book Your Appointment

 

Our Google Reviews

Great service for both our cars. Honest quotes and advice compared with our experience at a larger chain service centre. We were able to make service appointments promptly. The staff are friendly and respond quickly to questions regarding the work required. Complimentary shuttle service is a plus. We definitely recommend Sils.

Hilary Barichello Feb 2, 2024

Susan and team were great. Communication was clear and work was done as expected. Definitely would recommend!

Kulsoom Kabatas Feb 2, 2024

Sil’s always does excellent work.

CHARLES MULLER Jan 1, 2023

Once again out experience with Sil's was great! Love they send pics on work required and no surprises with the bill. What they quote for repairs is what you pay. Courteous and caring service reps. Glad we found them!

Judy Lessard Apr 4, 2023

As usual great Customer Service, always keeping me informed of work to be completed and a great job with the repair. Great staff and ownership would recommend Sils to all for their vehicle repairs.

Robert Oakley Apr 4, 2023

I have been taking my 14 year old Acura to Sil’s since it was new. Thanks to Sil’s it still drives like a dream. I can’t thank them enough for their the excellent , friendly service. Kelsie Dawson

Kelsie Dawson Feb 2, 2024

Great experienced did a wonderful job on my wife’s car I would recommend them

Franco Patitucci Feb 2, 2024

This place is very trustworthy and do a very thorough job. They also have fantastic customer service and online appointment booking. Will be taking my car here from now on!

Carrie McKinnon Feb 2, 2024

I’ve been a customer of this automotive repair shop since 2012 not only do I use it for my company Service Truck, but also for three of my family personal vehicles. The entire team from the owner all the way to the last person to deliver my vehicles always provide 100% transparency And complete details to any questions I have. They go beyond in searching for the best quality parts along with competitive pricing. Their handy customer loaner vehicles are a great touch when you have a few errands to run while they do repairs. I recommend as many of my customers, family and friends to continue using their services and for any new people I encounter who need automotive repair services

Rob NA Feb 2, 2024

From Anna Bedek: I have been going to Sil's Auto for many years and always go back. They do a awesome job on the car's health and the staff are always happy to help. I will continue to go to them as long as I have a car. They are the BEST.

John Bedek Feb 2, 2024

5 stars as always. Done when they said for what they said it would cost

Mark McCrory Feb 2, 2021

This was my first time taking my van in for service. I was very impressed with how friendly and detailed they were. The shuttle service was a pleasant surprise. I highly recommend Sil's auto care. I won't hesitate to go back when the need arises.

Maria Harris Jan 1, 2024

Excellent customer care, support and technical team. From the moment I arrived and were completely transparent with state of my vehicle. I will definitely recommend them and will use their services for futures maintenance. 👍🏻

Sebastian Neyra Vera Tudela (D34D Skrim) Jan 1, 2024

I recommend Sil's to everyone I know.

Richard Guest Jan 1, 2024

We had the good fortune of stumbling upon Sil’s yesterday. We are very grateful we did. We were extremely impressed with the professional staff. The service we received was outstanding. I would highly recommend Sil’s Autoshop to friends and family. Excellent service from the booking to the after service follow up. Thank you!

Bernadette Gillis Jan 1, 2024

My vehicle needed major engine work, and as always, the team at Sil's was fantastic. First class work, and they kept me informed of the status along the way. Highly recommended.

Charles Muller May 5, 2023

very thorough

Scott Kennery Jan 1, 2024

I am so happy that I chose Sil's Auto Centre to get my vehicle fixed. Both of my rear signal lights, daytime running lights and marker lights were not working. Susan provided me constant update and inspection report completed by a mechanic. Before starting the actual repair Susan provided a thorough explanation on what the issues were and it was fixed perfectly.

Tony Lee Jan 1, 2024

Caught a nail in a tire New Years Day as well as a part that was fixed on warranty and the great team at Sil’s had me back up and running right away on the January 2. Fast service

Peter J Thompson Jan 1, 2021

I had a great experience getting my car safetied at Sil’s. All the employees were pleasant and helpful, and they didn’t try to upsell me or try to convince me my car has a problem when I was pretty sure it’s fine. I’ll tell you where NOT to go…Mr. Lube on Speers. They told me my rear brakes are gone and I need a $750 replacement. Sil’s is the second mechanic to confirm that my brakes are fine. It’s great when you find businesses like Sil’s who you can trust. The complimentary shuttle ride was very much appreciated too.

Louisa Bauman Dec 12, 2023

My experience with Sil’s auto care centre was outstanding in every way. My initial call was answered by Susan, who is efficient, friendly and helpful. I took in my car, a Lexus hybrid, to have the wheels torqued and met the owner Carlo, who again was very pleasant and helpful. He said he would check the car over and look after it for me. When I took the car in the communication with me, either by phone or email, was excellent. Their estimate for work needing doing was prompt and they gave me time to consider before the work was done. After the work was successfully completed. I was picked up at my home to go and collect my car. I will certainly be using Sil’s auto care again.

Valerie Duffy Dec 12, 2023

Excellent service, best I have ever experienced in vehicle servicing. It used to be just 5 bays, but with the change of location it is much bigger. Thanks for the nice waiting room Carlo!

Keith Lockhart Jan 1, 2014

Fabulous service as always. Live the crew at Sil’s. Thanks all

Bonnie Kuehl Mar 3, 2023

Honest mechanics?! Its a miracle!

Blake Day Music Aug 8, 2023

We like and trust Sil's as do many in our community FB group. 👍👍

Steve Taylor Dec 12, 2023

Sue at Sil’s is amazing! And the whole team is wonderful, knowledgeable and transparent and I once again received excellent service from their team. I never hesitate to give them a call for any of my car concerns.

Manon Boyle May 5, 2023

Every aspect of my first visit there was so professional. My questions were answered so that I understood. I was listened to and respected I was offered a shuttle, a place to wait, all provincial guidelines being followed. I felt safe and like I had finally found a trustworthy shop. I can’t believe this gem was here the whole time right under my nose. No wonder you have been in business all this time you gain the trust of your customers. Great Job.

Michelle Giacometti Feb 2, 2021

Quality work friendly, honest and great workmanship

Dolores Soca Jul 7, 2021

Always good communication and updates on issues and great service overall!!!!

f v - t.o Nov 11, 2023

Sil's ACC is my go to now. They are incredibly professional and knowledgeable. They provide a web based summary report that you can view and decide what work you want to proceed with and which you want to hold off on for a later time, which i find very helpful.

Dave Degrassi Dec 12, 2020

Service does not get any better than at Sil’s! Everyone is exceptionally helpful and the service people do an excellent job! I have recommended many people to go to Sils and now they are recommending others.

Jean Eckhart May 5, 2022

From power steering problems to rodent control these guys are the best.

Heather B Nov 11, 2023

Will definitely use Sil's again. Tommy was very helpful, gave us regular updates, worked with us to have the best value solution for our audi. Our car was ready on time and very clean when returned. Would recommend them to anyone looking for a well run auto shop.

George P Nov 11, 2023

Great experience at Sil's, as usual. Staff were friendly, efficient and the whole process was smooth, and the work done was perfect.

Malcolm and June Surycz Oct 10, 2023

Sil's Auto Care Centre is the only auto shop you'll ever need to go to. Their staff are not only friendly and professional, but are also extremely knowledgeable and honest. I had my car serviced for a seasonal maintenance inspection and oil and filter changer service. Not only were they thorough with their job, but went beyond my expectations in providing a detailed report, loaner car and an interior and exterior clean. I'll definitely be returning for any auto needs and recommending Sil's to my family and friends. Thanks especially to Susan for her exceptional sevice!

Jeff Oct 10, 2023

I have always been a "bring it to the dealer" guy. After my dealer could not fit me in for immediate service (flat tire fix), I tried "Sil's". Briefly... I would specifically like to commend my mechanic, John... who came up with imaginative fixes for TWO (other) unconventional issues with my car. And the best part, there was a nominal charge on my bill for these. After this visit, Sil's has earned my "repeat business".

Paul Finlay Oct 10, 2023

A very good job for fixing my car thank you

Earle Angelo Valerio Oct 10, 2023

I use the services of Sil's Auto for the upkeep of my car and am always reassured by their thorough and professional service. I like their detailed invoices which also include a Deferred Service section which prepares me for what the next service should be to keep my car roadworthy. I appreciate their friendly shuttle service with Tim and the patient answers I receive to all of my questions. On one occasion I had an emergency problem with a window that would not close and it was fixed with a smile and no charge.

Dolores Wielgus Oct 10, 2022

Excellent timely service , always.

Dave Billyard Feb 2, 2022

Great service and super friendly

Michael Capizzano Sep 9, 2023
Locations Served